Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

March 22, 2004 - 10:03 a.m.

You know you have been overdoing it when you look at Monday morning as a chance to sit on your butt, rest some and feel a bit caught up from the crazy life you have lead on the weekend.  I have to admit that this a feeling that is not alien to me � just alien when it involves me having not gone to an event, or run rescue at all for that weekend.  That said, it was still an exercise in being overextended.  (Ed. Note: If you are looking for the short version ... do yourself a favor and scroll to the bottom now ... this one is long and chatty)



You see dear readers, on Thursday I fell in love.  100% smitten.  � with a car that is.  See I haven lusting over a particular type of car for nearly a year now.  Lusting in the putting money aside every pay period and actively saving for the car kind of way.  Knowing of this weakness, I have friends that every once in a while send me links to good used ones.  Thursday I got the same link from 3 people.  It was in Manassas, it was in excellent condition, it was a good price, it has all the options and color combinations I would select if I were to buy it new.  My new weakness and I went for a test drive and then a deposit on that evening.

So this left me Friday with a sudden and distinct need to get my Celica back from the parents.  (For those that may not be aware, I have been driving Dad�s Lexus automatic as I recover from foot surgery.  Broken foot and stick shift do not mix well).  Friday night Trevor offered to help me execute the great car swap and we hit the road.  Had coffee and dessert with my folks at post-10 at night and came strait back.  "No really Mom, it is great to see you but we REALLY ned to get back on the road now!"  *groan* Nothing like a really late night to start the weekend right.

Cause this was the weekend that I had PLANNED for bathroom renovations (replacing floor, painting, installing wainscoting � you know trivial matters � NOT).  Now sane persons would punt here, but not me �  So the evil old vinyl sheet (and ¼ inch luan it was glued to) had to come up.  And the Celica got cleaned out.  Tippy�s Tacos � mmmm.  And boards had to be measured and acquired. And the Celica needed a for sale estimate from Carmax (just in case).  And new flooring had to be acquired. We are still on Saturday here folks.  Add a run for groceries, several loads of laundry, grilling steaks and cleaning out the fridge.  Ed. Note: No wonder I am so tired. It seems like so much more as I write it down now.  End day by collapsing in bed wondering if you will ever get the board splinters out of the edge of the carpet (they came out fine, thank you shopvac).  I won�t spoil the glory of this post by telling you the tales of the evil home builder that should have been at my place to look at my windows at 9 in the morning; he never showed up and then was a flaming jerk on the phone.  We will just suffice to say I lost 4 hours of my life that I didn�t have to waste this weekend and I am so far from finished with them � but I am pretty done if you follow the difference.

Morning.  Remove toilet.  Hammer staples from the evil old wood bits into the subflooring.  Acquire table saw. Go somewhere else to acquire jigsaw.  Go home, change.  Take Celica to dealership.  Bye bye little car.  *sniff*.  HELLO 330xi!!!!  Prrrrrrrrrr.  Ed. Note: Brief moment of sadness � I of course bought a manual transmission car.  With the foot still being broken driving such for more than about 3 changes of gear is near hell.  So Trevor drove it to the Home Depot (yes I still needed one more thing � wax ring for the toilet if you must know) and then Matt drove it home from there.  I am only slightly bitter about owning  my dream car, to have it in my possession and to not really be able to drive it at all until after the first week of April. Buying the 330, like all major purchases took far far longer than it should have and pretty much sucked the life out of my afternoon.  Now we are at early evening, and still do not have the new wood for the flooring installed much less the shiny wonderful floor squares. Install ¼ inch wood floor.  Thank god for delivery lasagna.  Snap grid for tiles.  Begin process of sticky goodness.  Finally something in my house went easily � my bathroom is damn close to actually square (well rectangular but with squared angles, you know what I mean) and created in tidy increments of 12 inches.  Installation went smoothly.  Toilet re-installation does not leak and the bathroom was restored to fully functional status around 10pm.



The net is this �
� I have an amazing car � 2001 BMW 330xi.  Manual, Oriental Blue, Tan leather interior.
� I have a nicely installed new floor in my bathroom. Lots of screws, nothing squeaking, nothing leaking!  *grin*
� The wainscoting and sponge painting had to be punted for the weekend so there is plenty of more work to go before this project is considered done by any stretch of the definition. (Ed. Note: yes I know I now have to paint over newly installed floors and that will mildly suck, but that is what happens when it is late and I am too tired to paint and sponge a room before installing floor so that I can reinstall my toilet to get it out of my shower so that I can use the shower in the morning.  Yes I am aware that I have 3 showers in my house ... at that hour that really wasn't the point.)

I think that is plenty for one weekend � I need to get back to pretending to work now.  And figuring out how I can both get this document reviewed AND get a nap in here at my desk � my home life is just too rough on the sleeping habits it seems. I think I may need to get back to running duty and going to more events.  At least then I would get sleep.  How wrong is THAT logic?
 

ZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzz............

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!