Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

March 17, 2004 - 2:37 p.m.

Talk about depressing weather changes. I am pretty sure that I spent my weekend outside in just a thin jacket enjoying the sunshine. Waking to drizzle and snow flurrries yesterday was a cruel twist of mother nature. Naturally this was compounded by my staying up too late last night and not WANTING to be awake today. ZZzz�

Bathroom destruction is in full swing now. I have all the trim torn out and am in the process of attacking the evil cheap vinyl floor with gusto. I spent some time looking at how-to pages yesterday looking for some holy grail of getting this stuff up. I find that there isn�t one. That is unless you consider spring arms and a scraper to be a holy grail of adhesive remover.

Time is definitely ticking on the flooring decision. I have narrowed it down to 2 very different options. Option 1: A nice high quality vinyl floor tile that is about 12�x 12� It is a lovely blue on blue pattern that is both visually interesting and still �generic� enough that I don�t have to worry about it in 5 years when I feel the need to sell the house. Option 2: A similar sized ceramic tile, stone looking. Also in shades of blue/grey. Less interesting to look at but real tile. (for reference point for anythat care � the area around the tub is the builder generic 3�x3� shiny white)

So folks � thoughts? Comments? Do I scrape and putty the floor all perfectly smooth to install the high-end vinyl stuff? DO I install backerboard and real tile? (Do I stretch the hell out of my budget and installed heating elements under real tile and have warm floors?) I conclude that the budget for both is roughly the same order of magnitude. I conclude that the work involved is very different for each, but neither out of the realm of what I am willing to take on. Yes, I AM insane and am not hiring a contractor for this. TO make you feel better, dear reader, no I am not doing this alone. I have successfully conned tool owning handy friend into helping out with the task. I am prepared to not have a serviceable bathroom until � yeah a while. (and let me tell you how irritated Dubis is that I moved his litter box and shut the bathroom door)

Wow � anyone still reading this has way too much tolerance for my home improvement quandaries. Thanks for hanging in there I think.

In other news, I spent last weekend out of town. Away from SCA, family, cell coverage, work, the firehouse, email, sewing and home improvements. Wow it was so bizarre. But I think bizarre in a good way. I didn�t even really twitch much when I was away from it all. I made up for that of course as I got back into town and started checking and catching up with all of those things. I took a book with me, I took knitting with me � didn�t touch either one of them. On the other hand, I did wind up baking a cake from scratch, and make this killer homemade almond icing. Of course it was made with no recipe so it is becomes basically unrepeatable (likely a good thing for my sweet tooth).

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!