Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

July 02, 2003 - 2:07 p.m.

I have to say that all things considered my week at least is going swimmingly well.� Okay, so it is raining again and I am pretty over the whole raining things, but my tomato plants seem to be all about it right now.� They are happy, large and really bushy this year.� I put them in too late to have any fruit by the 4th of July, but I do have many blossoms and a few itty-bitty baby tomatoes to fawn over in the mean time.

Overall I think it can be best summed up so far as, I meant to be productive � really.� Work is in a odd lull-ish sport I am reviewing 3 documents and waiting comments on 2 that I have produced.�� Busy, yes.� Engaging, consuming my brain cells, dragging my soul into the work � that would be a resounding no.� But you need weeks like this.� My inbox is sorted and my desk is showing once again around the file folders.� Happy to have caught up on my sorting and filing.� I need that every once in a while.



On the other hand, home could use some real love and attention in the filing department.� My kitchen table has likely forgotten that it exists to hold plates and meals.� At present it is covered with 2 baronial pollings, some financial statements to file, misc correspondence and odd bits of paperwork that find their way home from the station with me.� Oops?� Guess I need to have a fit of organization at home some time soon.

I really have INTENDED to be organized and productive each night this week.� We even got home from North Carolina on Sunday before 8pm, I could have been a worker bee than.� But no, I have curled up on the sofa with Anne of Green Gables and knitting and lost many hours to the bliss of sloth.� So much for the carving and casting projects I mentally laid out for the week.� Nevermind the massive amounts of sewing I have scribbled on a notecard under the heading �do before Pennsic�.� Oops?



So this knitting thing - I have been accused of being an addict, I think it might be overstating it a bit.� I can stop any time !*wink*� As you, my faithful readers know, business trips to Florida resulted in a scarf in June, then I needed to make one for himself.� (It is er, um � dense � note to self if you get yet thicker yarn, you need larger needles.� I think it has measurable tensile strength, but he likes it).� This took me in time to last Friday I believe.� Here it was weekend, an event, me with spare time � and I had made 2 more scarves than is reasonable in June.� Enter our story�s first hero � Roland.� He declared a need for new later period garters.� Cleverly, I know how to make long smallish rectangular things !� Blue garters it is.� One got done over the weekend and the other got started and about � complete � then this weekend came to a close and it was time to get on the road.� About 2 miles from Arthur & Tricia�s place I realized it � I had left my knitting at their place.� EEEEEK.

But I will be back this weekend, big deal � leave it for a week.� Sheeze!� �

I made it to the north side of Raleigh.� We stopped at a Michael�s on Route 1 (Ragnarr becoming the second hero of this story) so I could buy more toys.� I am now working on a lap blanket.� For those that speak this sort of thing, I am using a thick gray yarn (Lion brand, Wool-ease Thick and Quick #149), size 13 needles and the expected size is about 54� wide by as large as I can stand it.� Silly woman only bought 5 skeins (hah!) I am on the third one and this thing is about 15�� Yes I will be getting more yarn this weekend.� Here is to hoping I can get more of the same dye lot on my way through town.� Here is to hoping that I don't run out crack, I mean yarn, before I get there!� Suggestions if� I can't?� Ragnarr suggests that I switch to burgundy, so it can be heraldic ... and therefore his blanket.� In the great words of my mother ... "we shall see."

Thank God I pinned Mitake down at University with promises of teaching me to knit round things, you can only do rectangles for so long (but where one blanket is good two is better?).� I will be seeing her this weekend � Oh wait that means � 2 projects going at once!!!!� It is just a long road down hill from there isn't it?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!