Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

January 21, 2003 - 1:45 p.m.

It is snowing this morning.  According to the news last night we were supposed to get some intermittent flurries today, no accumulation.  My lawn was white again when I left the house this morning.  I am really okay with that - honest.  On the way in the weather guy back pedaled and revised that to "no significant accumulation"  As it is approaching the lunch hour and still comes down steadily I find that the weather service has revised it once again ... "accumulations less than one inch" yep that would be about what is out there now.  Ah the science of weather.  I think I chose the wrong job field.  No, no really I didn't.  I don't think I could live with being that wrong that often, it would crumble my sense of self.

In the mean time,  I will happily look out on the snow, smile at the knowledge that this is helping to reduce and eliminate the drought status of the area and be pleased.  I really do believe that if I have to suffer through cold weather then it is the responsibly of mother nature to make it suitably pretty to make it worth the bother.  I am glad so see that, for the moment at least, she seems to be agreeing with my theory of the world order.



Yesterday was a holiday, and made for a three day weekend here.  Last week as I looked forward to the coming three day weekend I made some wishes.  I realized that for the first time in quite some time it was a weekend that had neither travel plans nor house guests.  No plans, dinner at so-and-so's, no agenda.  I wished for days filled with sleeping in, wearing jammies all day, curling up on the couch and acting like a lump.  I told Chuck I wanted to be not productive and watch cartoons and crummy movies.  Sounds like heaven?

Well, I got all that and more ... I even got a 5 day weekend.  Unfortunately, for me it came in the form of 2 ear infections (one in each) and bronchitis.  I was home sick for the duration and am now back to some imitation of health just in time for the work week.  Bummer, eh?  My inbox is enough to make me fake a relapse and run screaming from this place.  The only thing keeping me here is the knowledge that if I run from it, it will only grow (like some killer monster in a bad horror film).



Joy of all joys ... there is caffeine free diet coke in the soda machine on the second floor.  Just how cool is that .  That just takes the "monday" feeling out of my Tuesday and makes for a better afternoon.  Perhaps I am too easily amused.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!