Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

March 06, 2003 - 5:11 p.m.

Hi everyone � it has been a while since I have had to moments to rub together it seems. You know you are busy when you no long have the time to _pop_ your mail, to heck with the time needed to actually read it.

SO for the past couple of weeks I have been trapped in this supremely boring conference room, with bad ventilation and no windows. Reading through literally 1000+ comments on a lousy document and debating all of these comments with post-middle-aged men that can all literally tell me the number of months and days until their retirement (now some of those are 102 months and 28 days, others 19 months 8 days away but you get the point). Yes Virginia, you really can induce more pain with a laptop, an overhead projector, and an endless document than you can by � say, putting a fork in your eye and stirring.

But I have escaped the prison, I mean conference room downtown, and returned to an inbox brimming to overfull, 3 more documents to comment on and 2 days action packed with meetings here at the office to talk with all those people that haven't been able to reach me for "days and days" (bad 80's song running through the head now � Concrete Blonde, I think)

I so NEED a vacation � oh, wait I have one of those coming soon here. Next week in fact. Eeep, next week? I didn't realize how close GW was until a few days ago as I was sitting on the train back from the city. I think the yelp that I let out somewhat alarmed the unsuspecting soul sitting next to me. So many things to do, so many projects I had been idly threatening to do for the war this year. This weekend will be a competition between desire and sloth. I am on the one hand burned out from work, but on the other hand filled with the "need" to have some new toys to play with. Ah the finiteness of the hours. I would be so much better off if I could just give up sleep. It is lent you know, that would be a sacrifice � for everyone around me. Perhaps that is a bad thing to give up.

Lent. Each year I really try to use this as a time for some introspection and thought. I could give up something like chocolate or hard candies, but I find myself trying to do something else. Invariably, it comes down to a time that is part sacrifice and part "new years resolution" for lack of a better term. This year I have identified a particular crutch in life that I use like a shield to hide behind. A luxury that I don't really need, yet am like an addict loathe to give up. I can tell you all that I have chosen a hard road for the self this year and one that at present seems very long. Worthy, but long.

Well enough of the inner being. Last night Chuck and I went out for Italian food, and man was it good. All the spices blended perfectly and wine to go with it. (can you tell I just had a lunch on the run again today?) It turned into one of those long meals that you linger over and just savor. We missed the movie we where hoping to catch and I am okay with that.

I am officially � way through my EMT re-cert now. Next week is my "spring break" how cool is that? I get a spring break and everything. Of course when I was in college I could never afford to go anywhere for spring break.

Monday night I was at the (rescue) department and the county guy that deals with supplies and uniforms was there. It has been determined that for Hazmat Ops (hazardous materials operations class, that I will be taking in May sometime) I will need full turnout gear (the yellow "firefighter" jacket and pants that people wear into a scene). Now it may come as a shock, but I am not the shape and size of your average firefighter. The evil rep kept handing me different gear. "no try this" � "definitely not, how about this" Let me tell you, it is off putting to be putting on a jacket and pants over and over with half a station of guys making comments about just how runt-sized you are. They gave up and will be special ordering my gear.

Time for me to head to class. Tonight � rapid vehicle extrication. Aka: RapidX

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!