Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

April 25, 2002 - 12:02 p.m.

With any luck - I have only one more conference call to take for this job. The vultures have started coming by my workspace. "Is that footrest yours, or company. And can I have it?" "Do you have a stapler? Thanks, can I keep it?" Ah corporate acquisitions at the finest. Of course, this is Worldcom, no one is allowed to actually buy something new. I am somewhat surprised that I still have pens at my desk.

Today is my last real day in the office. I am in tomorrow for an exit interview, and Wednesday for them to take away my badge. Yippee. I am so looking forward to this. First place that I have ever worked that every person I talk to has some variant on "good for you for getting out, I should do that too" Sad, truly sad state of affairs.


Had dinner with my Uncle (yes Bob, the one with the truck collection) again last night. It was nice to do that, I used to go to dinner with him nearly weekly, but since he has moved down to Lottsburg (think eastern shore Virginia) I don't see him as much ... *sigh* It was nice.

It is official, I seem to have acquired ownership of his cat. Cougar. Now, you have to understand a bit about my uncle's lifestyle to see how I came to be stuck with this cat. Bob is retired, Bob collects old cars and trucks. Last month he bought a new truck. It now has just over 5,000 miles on it. He spends his life criss crossing the country buying cars and parts out in placed like Montana and bringing them back here to see, scavenge, or swap with other folks. I am not sure that the habit is profitable per se, but is seems to pay for itself and he doesn't laugh at my hobbies ... I won't laugh at his.

This nomadic way of life is spent in the constant company of his dog 'Gator (what is it with Bob and animals named other animals? And then there is the fact that I have 2 cats affectionately called Monkey and Fish, must be something in the water). In any case, Gator thinks that Cougar is something akin to a toy to be played with (Cougar does NOT like this by the way). This would not make for a peaceful road trip - man, dog and cat. SO ... Cougar is at my house, for good it seems.

He is really a nice cat. A lovely beast. Large, orange and perfectly content to sit on your lap. Unfortunately for him, he has claws and my babies do not. This does not make him a welcome long term inhabitant of my house. But this is generally okay - he is an outside cat. Actually a back yard cat. Imagine a cat so fat that he can't jump the fence with any reliability - so he is fenced in :)

He was my grandfather's constant companion for many many years. Followed him everywhere and napped with him. Cougar never really like my Grandmother, but he was a fixture of the house. He deserves a pampered old age. Loved somewhere by someone that will reward all that purring. Instead he is out in the yard during the day, and comes in to visit in the evenings.

Anyone want a lovely overweight cat?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!