Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

May 07, 2002 - 4:01 p.m.

So what do you folks want to hear about first?  Crown or the new Job?  We will go for chronological order shall we?  Crown Tourney.  We left town Thursday evening, no let's be honest Thursday night (10pm) to go to Cuan and Padraigas.  Ragnarr was very indulgent of my 8 billion last minute decisions to make things, but I did get a fabulous dress done with bunches and bunches of quatrefoils on it.  We arrived unspeakably late and crawled into bed.  Friday morning was nice and slow to start.  Muffins and packing.  Finishing last minute things and ironing.  Then Cuan got home from work

Things got faster then.  Suddenly everything was thrown into the vehicles and we were off for Crown.  Cu declaired that I should drive BigBlack cause I would have better odds of keeping up with him, which for the most part I did sucessfully.  Even I will not make a LEFT TURN ON RED you silly silly man.  We went through the back waters of South Carolina and waved a the liquor store in Cheraw that scares Shane.  Made it to sit by 5:30 and got the tent all happy and puut up.  Things are going swimmingly.

Then it started to thunder.

Then the tornado sirens started going off.

Then we got into our cars.

Then the hail hit.

Mind you it was only last week that there were very large tornados in Maryland.  And somewhere in all of that news coverage one of the weather guys offered the following advise ... "if a storm is stong enough to produce hail, it is strong enough to produce a toronado"  So here I am sitting in the cab of the truck.  Golfball sized hail is slamming down all over the place.  The temerature had dropped 20+ degrees in a matter of minutes, we can see nothing and hear even less over the storm.  And my poor lonely tent is out on the tourney field.

It all turned out just fine.  :)  The tent stayed up and other than being covered with pine debris was FINE.  We all had a lovely hailball fight and other than Padraiga getting hit in the head, that was good fun too.  Never seen anything like it. The ground was just covered, it looked like it had snowed or something.  Very odd.



Saturday had much better weather by comparison.  It was drizzling during the processional so P and I made the boys go stand in line without us.  At a glance it looked like they were fighting for each other.  Now there is a thought.  They looked wonderful.  The emboidered surcoats were stellar!!!!  Cuan and Padraiga matched with them both wearing her arms,  Rags had many many lions and I had quatrefoils.   What a bunch of clotheshorses we all make.  Ain't it grand.  Needless to say, my sewing machine is going into the shop sometime soon for a much earned cleaning.

It was a good tourney.  Lots of conversations and comraderie between the fighters.  This is the kind of tourney that I like to watch and feel that the kingdom cant loose.  Cuan had a hard road to his win - it was lovely.  They will make lovely monarchs.  There is such joy in seeing good friends win.  Happy happy.

I think that is enough for today.  I guess you will all just have to wait to hear how the new job is going.  I will give you all a previow ... I have a smiling 5 legged alien octupus on my desk (doesthat make it a pentapus?).  Really how can things go badly when that greets you at a new job?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!