Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

June 21, 2005 - 11:02 a.m.

This was another three mile morning. I am not overly fond of three mile morning, but I rather like the intangible benefits of getting up and moving. Some theory that I will feel better and fitter for the effort. Of course, at this time I feel more like someone has handed my butt to me but I am sure that the benefits are still there somewhere. Tuesdays and Thursdays, I keep putting myself through this silliness.
Last night was the most recent ALS committee meeting in the county. This is the meeting that �the all mighty powers that be� review the status of all the precepting providers and make determinations about their continued status. This week my book went up and was duely reviewed. I am now released as a lead ALS tech and will be issued my drug box keys later this week. This represents the completion of the training that I started in the early fall of last year. Finally. For all of you that have suffered through my lack of sleep, have supported me, spent time quizzing me on drugs and protocols, have listened to my ramblings about running duty night after duty night � THANK YOU. The crunch time is now over. I am out from under an aggressive deadline, and I couldn�t have done it without you all helping me. I hope that this means I will soon return to a slightly more normalized life. We shall see if that actually happens.
In other good news ( I get to have multiple pieces for this one, woot) I have gotten early good word on the Mom health front. As many of you know, she has been a resident in a skilled nursing facility for the past 7 weeks receiving a very aggressive anti-bodic treatment. Through all of this there has been the concern that this treatment would be insufficient to fully cure the infection she had sustained (MRSA). (Background: If this were to be the case, she would need to remain there literally for the rest of her life. Among other things, they don�t allow pets. Mom is very attached to her cat. I am currently taking care of her cat, which while a nice pet makes the animal population at my home a bit high). So the drug treatment is over and they are now in the mode of talking cultures. Got the first one back yesterday � NEGATIVE for MRSA. This is better than Christmas, better than chocolate pie.
Honestly looking back at things, I can not remember the last time I have slept in past 0530. I think it is starting to catch up with me. The past several weekends have had me in FD classes that have me out the door at 0700 and of course the work week is crammed up with me working out before starting the main part of the day. There is a great deal of frustration with the knowledge that I keep getting up this early, but still don�t get to the office until 0830 in the morning. I have this strange feeling that getting up at that hour I should be here far sooner than I am. Time, what a finicky thing it is.
If I get the time later I will write you all about the chaos here at work (I fear that I am competing with Wendy for work frenzy) and tell you more about my recent adventures with rope.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!