Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

February 08, 2005 - 10:01 a.m.

You know as a kid, strep throat didn�t seem like such a big thing. I mean yeah sure you were on the sofa for a few days while the antibiotics did their magic foo, but then you were better right? I lost all of last week to being unconscious with strep. A full week later I am only toying with feeling human once again.

Having a very low key week (read sleeping it entirely away) pretty much meant that my weekend was also incredibly non-productive. But by design, rather than by plague. Saturday I slept in and read. *bliss* Then headed out to a few VA wineries for the afternoon. Stillhouse was closed, but we made it over to Linden, Rappahannock and one other that the name just fled from my brain. It was sunny and pleasant and a nice day.

Sunday was wandering about half attempting to do some errands, window shopping and really getting not much done. Sunday evening I had fully intended to go over to a SuperBowl party but somehow the sofa called to me once again. Wound up ordering Chinese food and falling asleep somewhere around half time.

You know there is a lot to be said for going to bed at 8:30 in the evening. Granted you really can�t get a bloody thing done with the evening but it is rather nice even so.

Last night was annual CPR recertification at the station. As one of the instructors I headed over early to help with setup, etc. Imagine the distress when we realized that we had somehow booked a hall rental for the same time that we intended to use the hall for our annual training. No fear, we pulled the engines outside and did our training in the bay. It worked out fine but added an element of chaos that I would have happily avoided. The evening was a long one and I didn�t find my be until nearly midnight (which came a quite a shock to my system that was just getting used to an 8:30 end of day)

Well it seems that the streak of not being in the hospital (for Mom) ended at 12 days �the longest run yet since October. Good news is she is out and back at assisted living.

I have been asked if I am coming to Ymir by a few people now. Yes, I PLAN to be at Ymir. With things still so much in chaos with mom, as they have been for months now, it is so hard for me to actually commit to something. I hate hate hate making a commitment to be somewhere and then once again bailing on the commitment. I hate that I don�t feel like I can volunteer to do SOMETHING, for fear that it will not pan out for real.

Enough, the plan is set. Henry and I will be coming down in the truck. I will be staying in a cabin and eating feast and hopefully � having my phone OFF. I can�t remember the last time my phone was off for more than a few hours. (Was out of coverage on Saturday for 4 hours and had 6 voicemails from my parents *sigh*) Happy thought � no phone, no pager, no EMS radio � So if you see me twitching this weekend it is cause I think I am missing some vital piece of technology.

Looking forward to seeing so many friends!!!!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!