Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

November 08, 2004 - 10:51 a.m.

Last Sunday night, I call Mom to say hi and she tells me she thinks she is having a heart attack and is no longer capable of standing on her own ... And has been like this for most of the weekend. I pound head into wall and suggest that she go to the ER or call 911. After much negotiation this seems to be a good idea and my dad takes her in. Over the night she is admitted to the ICU.

It seems that the heart is fine but her potassium levels are about 800% of the average bear. Now with kidney patients this is scary but not unheard of. Aggressive measures are taken. Kymber gets an 0700 phone call and hits the road. After a long day things are looking reasonable.

Tuesday is improving, perhaps a move out of ICU is order. Everyone is vaguely perplexed at what caused the huge spikes in levels but Mom fesses up to being very uncontrolled about her eating habits due to depression (yes I can now only partly sarcastically say that I have seen a suicide attempt by potato chip). A psychiatrist (a really good one actually) is assigned.

Wednesday things are decent, up to a medical floor. Then they notice the knee. Lots of swelling, some but not much pain. They aspirate to remove fluid not overly concerned. But, nothing is strait forward she has a localized while cell count that is through the ceiling. This is an artificial knee and after more poking and pondering ... It has to go. This means surgery and another moved to orthopedic.

Thursday ... Knee removed. Massive infection. At least now we know the real reason the potassium levels spiked. A spacer (temp knee) is installed with plans to put the final one in 8 weeks from now. Okay this is strait forward - right?

Thursday night it is determined that all the jostling about caused the infection to break free and become systemic with new and interesting cardiac complications so we are back to the ICU and adding bigger badder more interesting IV antibiotics.

Friday, suicidal again (after this crazy week can you really blame her?) and while at dialysis she "threw a clot" that is there was a blood and air embolism identified in her line that had is passed would have killed her. After some panic and much chaos, this was resolved. Unfortunately this also caused her to conclude that after the week she had, and her present quality of life ... She was electing to NOT continue with dialysis ever again (result of this decision is 3-4 week lifespan)

Fear, uncertainty, doubt. Again with the nice psychiatrist, add a family minister and my uncle to the mix. (Did I mention up to this point my father has not taken a single hour off from work? Note to self murdering father will create mounds of paperwork) Several hours of hysteria and conversation resulting in back to the status quo ... I think.

Saturday ... More status quo, no chaos I finally leave town and come home to sleep for 19 hours. I think my laundry pile is unionizing and I am sure that the contents of the fridge are demanding better living conditions.

So the net is this ... At this time the expectation is that she will be moving to a skilled nursing convalescent care facility for 6 weeks, starting some time later this week. At 8 weeks she has another knee surgery. In the mean time she and I have agreed on an assisted living facility as a long term (6 mos? Rest of her life? Who knows!) solution. I will be disappearing again for each move. My cell number is listed in her hospital medical record should things become less stable and I have clean clothes in the car.

Today ... Things look good. Really how many shoes can there be to drop?

As for me, was supposed to see the rheumatologist last week to start a new treatment for the lack of white cells, but that went to hell in a hand basket and got punted. I hesitate to reschedule that for fear that will be tempting the gods :) But I seem to be rolling along with the assistance of caffeine and power naps.

SO - how was your week?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!