Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

June 01, 2004 - 1:36 p.m.

My way to work this morning was oddly lonely. No bugs suicide-ing on my windows, no dodging little beasties on the walk as I entered the building. The sound of cicadas has lessened to a dull roar around here. Much I am sure to the pleasure of that live in cicada central. But for me, who does not have them at home, I find them to be a cute novelty that adds charm to the beginning and ends of my day. That charm is starting to lessen as they complete their "business" and move on with their odd little lives.

Sapphire Joust was held this weekend and marked the first event I have gotten to since de-coronation in April. It was wonderful to see all sort s of friends that I have been unable to spend time with in a long time. It was generally good weather for the weekend (and especially when you consider the weather track weather for that weekend, good weather is nearly amazing for Sapphire). I had a rather nearly tragic mishap as I managed to pack everything I needed for the event except two very crucial tent parts ... the sleeve that is needed for assembling the center pole and holding up the center wheel part of my two round tents ... left it in the garage. All safe, warm, and happy. Fortunately for me it was possible, through some strategic begging on my part for it to arrive later Friday night and the tents were happily assembled by 10pm.

Roland and I caravaned down to the event Friday afternoon, with a pair of short distance radios to communicate over. Did you know that you can turn up the radio and key a mic into the little family band radio and torture the kind Roland with country music? On arrival, we got the chirurgeon's tent set up and bonded with Francesca over some grilled steak. This weekend I noticed something about her that I feel either odd or silly for noticing before ... she does an AMAZING amount of work. I realize the number of events I have seen here at hauling that trailer and setting up large tents or newassemblings on the field or stylish banners in the hall. I had not previously considered how much work that is for her. This weekend it was a tent set along the field for artisans to come and do their art things. I got to hang about and knit with her and others for bit in the afternoon Sunday Shame on me for not thinking her several events before this.


Parts of my event were ... lowlights. But I got so much from them. I was reminded (cause some days it takes a clue by four with me) that I have such wonderful and caring friends in my life. I have missed you all a great deal. So, dear readers ... if I have not returned your phone calls, or your email this spring - consider that it was honestly cause I wasn't sure that I knew how to. If you have no clue what the hell I am talking about - thank god. If you do, please bear with me I am working hard on being human again.

As drove down alone, I got to drive back alone. But this time without the chatter of the Roland one car length away. So to pass the time I considered coming events and coming projects and what I hope to accomplish this summer. One of the things I never get to ... repairs. Got a blown seam in this dress, or a sleeve button missing, or a mount broken off this belt. You know the small and annoying things of life. Anyone interested in a project weekend sometime late this month at my place? the only rule, and it might be bendable if needed ... no new projects. This is about making what you have better, more functional, more cool looking even. Interested? Ping me online or drop me a note if you are.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!