Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

January 30, 2004 - 11:10 a.m.

I think that somewhere along the way I blinked and someone stole January from me. Right out from under my nose! This weekend was another example of that. Overcommitted really and headed in all directions at once. Cuan and Padraigin came up for the Stierbach event, stayed with us even and I think all told I got about 30 minutes with them *pout*. They got in late late on Friday night, long after I was asleep and then I got up and to the event really early in penance for my having not set court business far earlier in the week. With concerns of the weather (well founded ones too) and a planned demo they headed out Saturday night. Missed having time to bond with the Pod. Hopefully I will make up for that at least in part this weekend.

I will be frank, being a monarch is a heck of a lot of work. Now this hard work is of course balanced out by many benefits � one of which is the ability to be the one to recognize people and their rockin efforts. This weekend found me in Stierbach for a lovely, if a bit chilly event complete with investiture (many investitures this reign). Unfortunately for me while I got to be there for a morning court, some great wards and setting worthy people on vigils � I had to leave before evening court. Really it broke my heart to do so. I looked at the schedule over and over for weeks before the event trying to come up with some way to mangle everything further forward into the day so that I didn�t miss a moment of all the good stuff. But helas, no success. There is really no excuse for inconveniencing all for my personal gratification. I missed court. Can�t describe how lousy that felt. For all that received awards � please please please do not carry the illusion that in not being there that I don�t or didn�t support some aspect of your recognition � anything but that in fact.

So why did the Kyna bolt and run � Arcola Banquet. Think like an evening combination of 12th night and a coronation. It was a social occasion with drinks and entertainment (in the form of a 45 min dvd of video footage an dstill shots of various activities from the year). There was a good meal (with a high table even). There was the swearing in of new officers (and re-swearing of current officers). There were awards. There was schmoozing. There was dancing. Starts to sound a lot like the SCA doesn�t it? So there you have it. I am officially now the Rescue Lieutenant, and the Secretary all sworn and everything. And rather than being in Manassas giving awards I was in Leesburg getting one. EMT of the Year. Means a lot to me, not sure I am entirely worthy of it but it does mean a lot to me.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!