Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

January 13, 2004 - 10:07 a.m.

Sunrise shouldn't be more than 2 hours after you get out of bed. Why is it that �a quarter to five� sounds so much more civilized than 0445? They are the same time, one term does not make it less dark. But to me they are worlds apart. Please do not ever mention to me that I have been getting up and any hour that begins with the number 4, unless referring to the time that I get up from a pleasant afternoon nap. Perhaps it would all be somewhat less traumatic if I could manage to go to bed at a normal hour (or even an early hour).

I really try to make an effort to not use this forum to talk about things having to do with the SCA overmuch. I feel that in general it is crummy thing for some random person to read what the queen thought about this or that without the benefit of proper context.

However, I am going to break that rule (this is probably a bad idea) for a moment here. I am going to break it to discuss phone etiquette. Please feel free to apply this to all parts of your life, SCA monarchs, officers, your coworkers, heck your parents �

- If you have called my cell phone and I did not answer it, do not call my house phone 30 seconds later, fail to leave voicemail on either and call my cell again � I might just be busy, unavailable or NOT ANSWERING THE PHONE.

- If you are calling after midnight or before 0800, there had better be a corpse involved. Cause when I am done � there will be.

- If you called me yesterday end of day, first thing this morning the status is very likely the same as it was then. I doubt that I fixed it, changed my opinion of it, wrote a response to it or got in touch with someone I needed to consult on the matter, in the 8 hours since we last spoke. Especially if I was getting sleep for some of those hours.

- Save yourself the effort � I really do talk to the King, the Heirs and the Seneschal. Remember when you asked Mom and she gave you an answer you didn�t like and you asked Dad? Remember how it never went well for you when you did that?

- If you sent me email less than 10 minutes ago, chances are I have not read it, I have not made a decision on it and calling me will not speed that process.

- If you have called my cell cause I am at the rescue squad, assume that I do NOT have all the kingdom files, am not logged into email and may hang up on you. When you hear me tell you I have to go NOW and there are sirens in the background � only a fool will continue to believe that this is a personal insult. Really it is NOT all about you � I promise.

- And finally � please please please � if you do not leave your name and phone number I don�t care how long and detailed the rest of your message is � I can not call you back. My clairvoyance only goes so far!

Well now that I seem to have that out of my system .. I will say that there is no one who should be feeling paranoid right now. Honest � I am not angry at you dear reader for some phone slight that you are feeling queasy about right now. I am merely tallying an accumulation of many months of phone ainxt.

Last night was the monthly business meeting at the Fire Station. I was not planning on running calls so I wandered in jeans and a good sweater. Oh bad plan. I will make the story short � I never made it to the meeting (and a secretary that creates some issues for me). Instead we transported to Fairfax (the trauma center for us). For those not familiar with my geography � you pass other hospitals to get there. It is on the other side of the next county over � it is at the beltway and my station is definitely not. Think like 30+ min transport � running lights and sirens. This is what I get for not having on duty gear when in the station. *sigh* And so much for an early night to bed. Mmmm coffee.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!