Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

November 10, 2003 - 10:47 a.m.

Lovely weekend but not enough of it to go around to suit me. Friday night was true bliss. The bliss of staying home, ordering chines food and watching TV that had been taped during the week. It seems I am never home when the shows I watch are on. Of course in a twist of fate, as I was watching things from tape i realized that something I wanted to see was about to come on ... so I taped it on the other TV. Yeah, anyhow Saturday was a lovely day with sleeping in some housecleaning and some puttering. Made dessert to take to dinner with the crowd I like to call the winegeeks.

About every month or three they try to put together a dinner that everyone brings something and a wine paired with it. Now with nearly a dozen folks this is a) a large meal and b) a hell of a lot of wine. So to make things simpler Matt and I decided to spit dessert. I made angelfood cake with an experimental rasberry glaze that worked out really really well (crushed berries, sugar, cornstarch and chambord). Oh my. Dinner was divine and the theme was Thai cooking. Spring rolls, lemon grass soup, lime ginger pasta with scallops, a salad I can't describe ... it was a MEAL!!! I ate way too much but that is okay - I drank too much wine too.

Sunday afternoon continuing on the wine theme found me with others roaming about the Virginia countryside to 3 various wineries. Now I need to figure out where to put it all. Chuck was off at the northern region fight practice. I think I got the better deal ... All the joy of a fall day with none of the effort or labour involved. Of course he got to hang about with many folks that i haven't seen in a bit ... ah the pros and cons to any decision.

And of course the evening ... I was at the station, where else would I be? Home? unwinding from my weekend getting ready for the week? That would make sense. It was a quiet night at the station and relaxing. I got home about midnight, not long after Chuck got in from work. To make life interesting, I got asked if I would accept a nomination to the Board of Directors at tonight's meeting. On the one hand it really only means about 2 hors of work a month, and on a night (Mondays) that I am generally at the station anyway ... the road to perdition is well paved. Much to ponder. much to consider.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!