Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

September 11, 2003 - 3:30 p.m.

Two years ago today, more than 3000 people died.� Died to a senseless act of rage, hate and violence that was directed not at soldiers not at policymakers or leaders but at ordinary people like you and I that were living their lives in America.� People that did nothing more that day than go to work or step on a plane.

Two years ago today 343 people walked into a burning, crushing hell to assist people they did not know, would never know � and died in their efforts.� These are the fire, EMS and police personnel that died in the New York twin towers when they came down.� Experts estimate that it will take New York City fire companies almost 50 years to truly recover from the loss of life, expertise and leadership stolen from them on that fateful day.

Tonight I will be going to my fire station and I will run an equipment check, restock the supplies in the ambulance, maintenance my gear, have dinner (served by the most excellent Sons of Italy!!!), do some paperwork, and run through some drills.� I may respond to the sound of tones ringing, it might be a quiet night.� One never really knows.

Would I have entered those burning towers?� One really never knows.� I like to believe that I would, and that I will never have to make that call.� I pray I never find out, that this country is never called on in such fashion again.

Heroes walk among us, 343 heroes died in one horrible moment 730 days ago and the nation is poorer for the loss. For those of you that read today, you are a nation of heroes.� For those that have ever thanked god for the blessings in your life, for the soil you were born on, and the government you live under � you are a nation of heroes.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!