Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

June 03, 2003 - 4:51 p.m.

I had a truly lovely weekend.  I attribute a good portion of that to the large glowing thing in the sky that came out to visit for the first time in far too long.  Friday afternoon I reminded myself that it is not that I can�t mow the lawn � I don�t mow the lawn.  Chuck took great pity on me about ½ way though.  You know when it rains every day for weeks and weeks � the lawn gets damn tall.

If you liked the movie Transporter, go see The Italian Job.  Definitely a movie that qualifies in the category of �zoom and boom.� I finally got to turn the brain off and just be a vegetable for a few hours.  Never underestimate the importance of downtime.  Too often I forget that somewhere between the demanding job and two all consuming hobbies.


Anyhow, Saturday we went to a small event up in Storvik.  It was sunny for the greater part of the day and I got to watch Ragnarr�s squires Henry and Miguel fight.  I admit it, I have great bias and I took a side to cheer on.  I won�t name names but I will tell you that I was rooting for the left-hander ;)

Saturday evening found me over at Arcola. We were hosting a fund-raiser and I wound up serving drinks to bingo players for several hours.  A whole new league of people watching I tell you.  Things I learned about bingo players � They drink Corona and cheap pink wine.  They like popcorn, man do they like popcorn.  I had no idea any person could play so many concurrent games of bingo (think in the 15+ category) with one little spongy marker.  Hey those things come in a WIDE variety of colors.  The real addicts have their own, with custom holder, cosie sort of thing.  Decorated by some 3rd graders at best.  Tee hee � people watching extrordinaire!


Sunday garden goodness.  I finally got a weekend day that met the requirements of being home AND having sunshine.  Beds got weeded and tilled.  Tomatoes got put in, with cucumbers to keep them company.  New rosemary planted to replace the one that didn�t make it through the winter.  I miss that rosemary; the new one is much smaller.  Can�t wait for it to grow up and be all good smelling too.  And finally � I added lavender to the mix.  After all that I came in tired and full of mud under the nails and happier than I have been in a long time. What can I say, I never grew out of playing in the dirt.  *grin*
 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!