Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

May 27, 2003 - 1:47 p.m.

My event in the form of a bulleted list cause prose just takes too much out of the tired brain that is left from the weekend.  No segregated best and worst list here, you get to sort this one on your own!


  • Mel drove me to the event.  I had spent the week out of town for work.  The guys (Ragnarr and Henry) had taken everything down early in the day and I would have been driving down alone.  It was a grand an enjoyable trip down where I got to sit like a lump
  • I arrived to a tent that was fully assembled and a bed that was made.  How bad could it be when you start out like that?  They had put up 4 or 5 pavilions before I got to site, and I got to come in and just work on sorting out things and went to bed relatively early.
  • Miguel came by and spent the evening in camp hanging out with his knight and being generally helpful.  We don't get to see much of him just hanging out between his family and a lively merchant booth.  It was good to have him around.
  • I went to sleep while other folks were still getting settled for the night; some were up until god only knows how late and I was not one of those setting up in the dark.  Mmm, sleep � bliss.
  • Saturday morning started with Padraigin making breakfast for the camp.  She cooked ALL weekend long.  I  hope she had fun, cause that much time in a kitchen for me would most assuredly NOT make for the stylish and happening weekend for me.
  • There was a laurel vigil with an amazing subtlety of a cake.  It came with blue bobbins for lacemaking that were made out of pulled sugar.  They made for blue tongues.
  • Saturday I got to skitter around to all number of places. I watched fighting and fencing, got to see all the A&S and hang out for a bit with art junkies.  I had the time to spend time with people like Anna, Eldrid, and Clare � friends I adore that I see so rarely anymore.  Missed James *sigh* he had to work.
  • Hat silliness.  Forgal is single-handedly trying to both support the Afghan economy and bury his lady in odd freedom fighter hats.  Many of us have them now, complete with matching bandanas.  They are truly fun, and do smell like sheep when damp.  Yes it was really really damp this weekend.
  • Crowned in court by my Prince while he said all manner of sweet and mushy things.  Honestly I could have taken or left the public hatting, but the sweet words make it all so worthwhile.
  • Having a champion with a fashion sense to rival mine.  I was wearing a red-maroon underdress with a green and fur over dress.  My hood was pink, may accessories were blue.  Andrew on the other hand had a red cothardie, 2 shades of blue hood, and green and maroon hosen.  Love the fashion sense!
  • A squiring to remember.  So many people made the effort to drop their evening plans for a time (like the Luau) to come by and be there.  And then for them to all stay while we waited for others to arrive.  Sorry it started later than advertised folks.  It meant a lot that you came.
  • I introduced someone to tequila.  This was of course after a mad quest for tequila.  Did you know that if you ask a mere 3 souls for tequila at a site it will result in 50 people going on a true quest?  I forgot that detail of how the SCA works.  Anyhow, I got to share my particular fondness and see the face of a person wrinkle up in the very silliest of ways.
  • It was nice in a very selfish way to hear the rain on the roof of the tent and know that ours does not leak and that we were warm and dry.  Now granted, you didn't want to even consider setting a food off the bed without a shoe on it, and nothing was left on the ground that was not waterproof, in a box or elevated.  But the sheets were dry and the blankets were warm.
  • Sunday morning there was a Roses meeting and breakfast.  It included highlights like mimosa's and watching Cuan walk by in a trashbag to go marshall.  Marshall in the rain!! As silly as that might be � there was at least one authorization, some small melees, some pickups and a class or two going on.
  • Random Theo sighting.
  • Pod buddy got this fabu pitcher/pot from the silent auction.  Perhaps I can steal it out from under her nose and she won't ... who am I kidding, she would notice before my fingers wrapped around the handle.  She has pod radar about that sort of thing.
  • Spaghetti night.  More Padraigin in the kitchen.  Dinner came complete with cookies and milk for dessert.  It was really very rainy and we played poohsticks and drank aphid juice (cheap wine) with Melisande.  Dinner was loud and filled with good friends, good food and companionship.  It was the sort of meal that keeps me coming to events and staying at them in spite of really lousy weather.
  • I will be making a token for something this summer that truly excites me to be able to make.  Must draft and draw things out for it � stay tuned.
  • I went to bed early, I needed that.  I slept waking to hear some hard rains and loud storms, but my bedding remained bone dry.  The floor of the pavilion far less so, but I was not on the floor so this was okay.  Others in my camp were rained out and that really sucked.  Lucas and Mari had a tent come down on them (fortunately they are okay, and only have the loss of one pole). Everything got soaked and they got a hotel.  How awful for them.
  • Sadly, I got lied to.  That might have been the low point of my whole weekend.  Someone that I trust looked me in the eyes and told a bold lie.  I have yet to decide what to do about it, if anything.  But it hurt, a lot.  Made me think that I was too dumb to realize it or something.  Makes me sad.
  • Monday morning pack down started early and was generally gross.  Everyone pitched in and worked like a mule.  There were many small annoyances which when coupled with boots that finally soaked through after a weekend of abuse made for a very grumpy Kyna.  If you are one of the poor poor souls that I was likely awful to on Monday morning I am very sorry.  Terribly sorry in fact.
  • Jaine took me home and she has heated seats in her truck.  Clarification, Jaine took me home after tromping about after me for the whole of the weekend.  She is added to the pile of heros of the weekend.  The boys finished pack down with all the gang from North Carolina and followed by a few hours.

As if the event wasn't enough excitement and business for a weekend, Monday also got filled with a much need pseudo-sewing day.  I say pseudo-sewing cause it was all about patterning and not about sewing.  I have a new dress pattern that fits once again.  Funny thing is that the piece shapes are all different now.  Not so much that there is less of me, there is, but more than that I am just placed differently than I was.  I blame that on being far more active and hanging about with firefighters of late.

So I went to bed all dry once again, with a new dress pattern and very sore feet.  Today leaves me tired but with a happy happy thought � I don't have to go to class.  No EMT, no Hazmat, no station duty tonight.  I just get to go home and bond with the cats.  *bliss*
 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!