Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

April 24, 2003 - 4:41 p.m.

*cheerleader�s voice*

Apathy, apathy that�s our cry �

A. P. A. �

Ah, hell with it!

I think it is turning out to be one of THOSE days. You know that kind where you get up really early (think dark out early) and get a lot of work done ay home before going to the office. Or in this case before going to meeting downtown.

You think that it will be a good and productive day� then you get caught in traffic, can�t find a parking space a the metro, become late to the meeting � but that is okay cause the meeting runs 90 minutes longer than planned making you late for lunch. Late makes for grumpy, on top of the hungry which set off a headache and headaches are bad.

But eventually all of that joy ends and you make it to your desk. Finally. At 2:15 in the afternoon, but you make it there. Plow through some admistrivia, go catch up with the boss � things are looking up right? Worng, it is after 4, and my day is really only beginning. I have plenty of work to do, and projects pulling on the edges of my brain. But who wants to dive into something at 4pm? Definitely not me when I was logged in at six-something.

I would throw up my hands and go home. Call it a day and find a glass of wine and a cuddly cat � but I have class (EMT) tonight. I wouldn�t even make it to the front door before I would need to turn around to get to class. It will be 11pm before I make it home and then � then it will all begin again tomorrow. Bliss, tomorrow is Friday. The weekend is coming. That bit of knowledge alone is enough to take the edge off the fatigue, apathy and headache.

Well, that and the knowledge that I only have 3 more sessions of class, followed by the state certification exam. Of course the worn out portion of the brain does mention here that May will be filled with Hazardous Materials Operations class. 2 nights a week and Saturdays too. *sigh* It is hard cause on the one hand I really really like getting back to EMS. There is nothing that compares for me to the ability to give back like that. But I will be happy to get this current training push behind me for a few months.

Bitter moment � I am going to miss crown tourney cause of HazMat Ops. For a long list of reasons I won�t bore you all with, there is just NO OTHER session of the course I can take and meet the state training requirement. Net is that I will be decontaminating things while Rags is a state away hitting things. The decision to not be there for crown is one of the hardest I have made in a long time. You pick what hobby is most important to you? You pit things you love head to head like that? Ugh, it makes me feel very small that I will not be there for him that day. Rags will take the field, likely bearing my arms to enter a crown list for me � and I can�t �be bothered� to even be there. Does it help to know that I am really quite bothered? That I petitioned the state to find an alternate way to meet this training requirement cause I really really want to be in NC then? *sigh* I think this just turned into a chocolate moment. I need a snickers bar.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!