Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

April 22, 2003 - 5:27 p.m.

There is a bowl of jellybeans, or as I like to call it crack just around the corner from my office.  They are calling my name, I can hear them.  They are the really yummy starburst flavored ones.  You would think I had enough sugar in yesterday's escapades, but no � there is always room for a jellybean.

Yes, yesterday I turned 30.  The lovely Wendy and Mel made this a splendid (and decadent) occasion for me such that I am presently trying to figure out how best to schedule another 30th b-day for sometime soon.  But I am getting way ahead of myself.



Easter weekend was good, spent time with the family swapping medical horror stories � the certified pastime of my Mom's family.  She and Uncle Bob played a game of one-upmanship with tales of knee replacement and heart attacks.  I came home reminded just how truly healthy I am.  Perspective boys and girls it is all about perspective.    Anyhow, I got home Sunday night and wound up puttering about the house as one is want to do after being gone for the weekend.
 


Monday morning � I woke up late, not too late, but late.  Then the phone rang and woke me up again (thank you Chuck).  This would have been a saving grace if it weren't for the fact that � you guessed it � I fell back to sleep again.  Much scurrying, and I got out of the house late but not epic horrible late.  That was until I realized oh about ½ way to the office that my laptop was all nice and cozy � at HOME.  U-turn, try again.  It was 9 before I was settled into the office to conquer a day of work in 3 hours.
Then the day got much much better.  To describe would take far too much effort and more typing than I am willing to commit (and likely more than you are willing to read)
  • Balloons!  Wendy and Mel and many bright friendly balloons!!!  And coworkers and department heads and managers streaming past � eep.  Ned, ambassador of the balloons (don't ask) came with us, his brethren stayed with Roland. They met me at the house later in the evening � I think the cats are traumatized.  You see if you have all these strings dangling and a fan on in the room � the strings move, no human involvement they just move.
  • Cajun food, good Cajun food in a place called Okra's.  How odd, yet yummy.  The place was � bright, and sponge painted and decorated with odd artwork that looked like a cross between a man, a monkey and the Count from Muppets. It was good.
  • Massage.  Happiness.
  • Shopping of randomness.  Pottery store, used books (stop to pet the cat) window shopping of antiques, window shopping of stained glass.
  • The tea room � oh. My. God.  Cream puffs!  Call to the Pod Buddy cause she really deserved to be there for the �more than 61 flavors of tea�
  • A random haircut.  Many inches off the back and hair shorter than it has been since I was in single digit age.  They made me buy a hair dryer (yes I managed to get to age 30 and not own a dryer).  Another call to the pod, to complain about my lack of imaging phone.
  • A stop by a tequila bar, cause that is never a bad thing for a good smooth sipping tequila.
  • And finally, dinner with the guys who took the haircut quite well


Definitely a very very good day.  I am truly blessed with my friends and feel about as a well loved as a girl can be.  I so need to eat lettuce for the next god only knows how long after all those sweets yesterday, but man was it WORTH IT!!!!!   Love you guys,  Thanks.
 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!