Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

November 12, 2002 - 10:44 a.m.

Commuting in the rain is never a fun thing.  This morning reminded me of that.  I fear what will happen to my commute the first time is snows this year � yes I am firmly in this �it will snow, damnit� school of thought.  In any case, if my commute nearly doubles in rain I think I will be bringing serious provisions before entering the car in weather that threatens to be scarier than that.

So in the perfect world we would all have weekends that carefully balance time for self/time with significant other, time spent with friends, and then time doing all those thing that I call �acting like an adult�.  You know cleaning the house, paying the bills, doing errands � all that Real life crap.  But, as my readers know achieving that balance with an all consuming hobby really boils down to �good luck with that!�

Too many weekends spent with no time for self/sig. other, all about traveling and being with friends � to the point of being sick of them (cause you are not doing the other things) and then coming home and being too tired to �act like an adult�.  THIS was NOT one of those weekends.  THIS was the rare weekend of perfect balance.  Of course it took 3 days to get that balance � more evidence that we need 4 day workweeks to become the standard.



So Saturday was filled with getting up to early to mention, and driving up to NYC.  Specifically to the Cloisters.  Chuck, being saint-like did all the driving (both ways in fact).  The drive was wholly boring, as all drives should be, and filled with TOO DAMN MANY tolls to travel through the ahem-garden state.  The museum was fabu.  The Campin room was closed for restorations, but they thoughtfully moved the Annunciation Triptych to another room.  Clever of them.  The Cloisters itself is really a smash of several buildings that have been moved to the US from various places around Europe, mostly France.  The result is a museum that is a mishmash of architecture styles and time periods that makes one who notices that sort of thing (like me) come away feeling like they have stepped into a blender every time they switched rooms.  And yet, we love the place.  Yummy chairs, wonderful tapestries that Ragnarr offered to take home for me (I suggested that the guards would feel silly if he did that � just left guarding blank walls), and the cloister gardens.  It is November and they were still wonderful. A wonderful day.  All the right ingredients of couple time and culture (not the kind in the back of the fridge either!)
 


Sunday was the day �to spend with friends� day.  Wendy made approximately a million pizzas for a collection of folks that top ended at 12 humans and a vacuum disguised as a cute dog.  Much pizza.  And the chocolate mousse � did I mention the mousse with raspberries in it?  Filled, we went home and cleaned a little and then had some people over at our place.  Mel did a lovely Mary Kay thing, and the guys iced the cupcakes while the girls all sat and were girly.  Did I mention that the cupcakes were also chocolate?  Mmm, chocolate.



Yesterday was the productive day.  The day that never happens in a weekend, cause they are only two days long and if you are going to sacrifice something � trust me it is always scrubbing toilets and paying bills, not eating pizza or holding hands in a museum.  The result of this ongoing skippage was about a year and half worth of paperwork strewn about my office.   Old bills, old bank statements, directions for the new printer, box from said printer, unfiled chirurgeon paperwork � it was an official mess. But now it is all better.  Things have been moved about and vacuumed under � heck even the PC got blown out and cleaned (and oh my there was a lot of funk in there � strangely it seemed to be a lot of grey cat hair, got to talk with Dubis about that one.  NO MORE rubbing on the PC). The baseboards are clean and there is room to move about.  As long as you keep the SCA fabric and garb closet of doom closed it looks like a clean room owned by normal people.  How do you like them fries!

And then � and then I fell on my nose. An evening filled with me on the sofa watching mindless TV while polishing my nails.  Chuck, man with too much energy, had gone off to hit people in Maryland.  Oh look � I even got me time to throw into the weekend of bliss.

With all that weekend goodness you would think I would make it into work on time and start the week of right � nope.  But I blame that on the rain.  And on the warm comfy bed.
 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!