Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

August 27, 2002 - 9:12 a.m.

So perhaps a little less hate and a little less ainxt is in order for today n'est pas?

Boxwood update - after a much closer look last night the good news is that there is still flex in all of the branches as you get closer to the core of the bush.  There is even still some green in many of the leaves closer in.  I believe that they MAY survive (depending on the harshness or not of the winter).  Watering of them small amounts daily has commenced.  Which brings me to an interesting question.  How is it that in the past 12 months we are at a 17 inch deficit for rain, nearly all of Maryland, Eastern Shore and Central VA are under tight water restrictions ... but NO restrictions for Loudoun County that I can find record or statement of anywhere.  For that matter none for Fairfax or Prince William either.  Per the radio sometime last week, PW at least gets most of their water from Fairfax and therefore will set their restrictions to match Fairfax.  I just don't get it ... we are in drought, surrounded by restrictions and I drive past dozens of sprinklers each morning.  Did you know that many restaurants in MD are being asked to use disposable plates, napkins and service ware for lunchtime rather than wash dishes?



Witchblade season closer ... WTF.  I am beginning to hate the end of the season of this show.  No spoiler for those of you that taped it and have yet to watch ... suffice to say that you should have something small soft and fluffy to THROW AT THE TV.  Issues.  Subscriptions.  I so need to follow something more cerebral in the way of a TV show.  But really how gripping is 60 Minutes from week to week?  *sigh*



Happy thought for today ... my car.  I adore my car and I finally have it back.  Back from where you might ask?  Well in late may there was a hail storm that caused a LOT of denting and damage to my little beast.  Finally in July I borrowed dad's car and put mine into the shop to be made all shiny again.  Then I broke my toe ... no driving a stick for me for a few weeks, then I loaned it to a friend in exchange for BigRed so that I could give BigBlack to Cuan and Padraigin for Pennsic.  Net of it all is that I haven't driven my car for gee ... more than a month I would guess.

But it is back now. And I came to work in it.  Reveling in the ability to hit 70 on an entrance ramp, to not have to hold a SmartTag up to a windshield (not about to put something attached to Dad's windshield of the convertible, he would NOT be amused no matter how useful the attached object was).  I cruised down the road with the stereo too loud, in perfect balance.  Ahh the bliss of 6th gear.  And then there was traffic.  But even that was okay cause my car has good lumbar support and it fits right.  Cup holders in the right places.  Spare CD's in the console.  The clip thingy for my phone to live in rather than skitter about the floor of a vehicle.  Things are good having my car back.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!