Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

August 20, 2002 - 8:56 a.m.

3:40 and I am starting to see the light of day.� That is the caught up feeling from being gone light of day.� This pennsic return was actually kind of nice.� First time in some number of years that coming back to my inbox hasn't made me totally regret going away in the first place.� There is something to be said for this civilized pace in the office.� Now mind you that is not to claim that there aren't things that need to get done, or people that I need to follow up with ... there are.� I just don't have to feel the need to do it all RIGHT NOW.

Pennsic was lovely, hot but lovely.� In a short description our camp rocked. We had 100% period pavilions, and the best� kitchen for miles.� Kudos for Cuan and the vented roof.


Lets see, dear readers where did we last leave off... you all heard about land grab.� So next would be getting to the war.� It seems that our dear prince came up with 70-million last minute projects that needed to get done, so he cleverly put Padraiga on the road to Virginia to meet up with me and then he followed later via the western route. P arrived late evening, we caught some sleep and then got on the road about 6.� The trip was filled with lovely chatter and ended splendidly with NOT having to be in some horrible check in line on the Saturday at the middle of the war.� Just one more bonus of going up for land grab.� Though this year the check in line didn't look that awful.� :)

The weekend was nice and laid back and included some SHOPPING which turned out to be a really great thing as I never really made it back around to that happy task.� I got some lovely new books that I have yet to get the time to stare at.� Ahhh things to do this evening between loads of laundry.

Then the madness known as war week started.� There were alarm clocks and battles, queen's teas and scurrying to and fro.� There was Milleacre night and much medieval cooking.� I think all told we had significantly more than 20, but less than 30 people for dinner.� There was a great croquet field and game playing and margaritas.� Yes, I did in fact make tequila beverages, but not as many as I would have liked.� You see no one else came with any liquid of the alcohol persuasion and my pockets are only so deep.� But, LOTS and LOTS of people came by and had some drink and petted the kitchen.� It was a great evening.

Skipping forward a few days and several appointments, some chirurgeons shifts and lots of errands we get to good things like scouting in the woods battle.� Which for me equates to 50% scout work and 50% take water into fighters so that they remain healthy work.� Hey, you do what you can.� This was followed by ICE CREAM!!!� Princess P and I went out and got an unhealthy number of frozen goodness for all of Milleacre to munch on.� Did I mention it was hot?� Did I mention you could likely melt pewter in a helmet it was so hot?

Hadrian's Wall (more fighting) was more laughs than a barrel of monkeys.� It was great to see the P.P. out there in her oh-so-fashionable breastplate.� In spite of what the boys tell you, it is ALL about looking good.� I popped up in various places and shot many many spearmen.� I found that the Chux will be very nice to you when you are helping their position, but man ... their version of nice can give a girl a headache.� You see every time I got an opponent SOMEONE would wind up patting me on the head.� These are not delicate girlie pats, but more like large meaty paws slamming on the helmet pats.� Ah well no harm and lots of fun.� I also after some number of attempts on my part and Padraigin's part managed to kill Sir Thomas (he was carrying a large shield and was good at being behind other beings).� This was no small amount of joy.� Heh heh heh.� Face shot.

You would think that after being on the field for nearly 2 hours that HRH would feel the need to rest ... but NO, that woman could not be convinced to take a nap.� This meant that I got to go on blind faith that everything was getting up to and set up for her vigil.� It was.� Court was lovely.� ROLAND GOT HIS WHITE SCARF. Padraiga was put on vigil for her pelican.� i would say more about the vigil but pathetic me that I am ... I fell asleep.� You see Cuan and Ragnarr were going out to a convience mart for stuff.� They dropped me at the tent and I was just going to nap for a few minutes.� Yeah - right.� Slacker that I am, no midnight madness, no kidnapping a queen, no being there for a good vigil.� But boy was the sleep a wonderful thing.


Thursday we hosted the Atlantian Queen's Tea (no tea was served, duh!).� And proved that as long as you buy your ingredients in advance (list made in truck on the way to Pennsic the second time) a very small number of people really can host a tea with less than 2 hours of prep time.� I don't recommend it but it definately can be done.� Thanks to Alisandra there was 3rd (or was that 2nd) set of hands in the kitchen and everything was out and served on time.� There was WAY too much food, and lots of people playing lawn games.� Funny moment ... Her Majesty racing hoop and stick with some of the various baronesses of Atlantia.� Where was the camera when I needed it!?!!!

Friday was the day that was MOST hideously behind schedule ... I shot target archery.� How is it that I can be so accurate when I have a helmet on (and can't get a true sight) and have horribly overbalanced, non-aerodynamic combat blunts ... and still be so lousy on the target field.� Ah well, the breeze was truly lovely from the top of Mt. Eisinn, and we gout to see the field battles from there.� The Heroic Champions battle was the cause of the lateness Ibelieve, and my 'Narr was one of the combatants.� He won against a Duke from Calontir who's name I have ingloriously forgotten, and then went shopping with me cause he is that wonderful.� Shopping in armour, and then back for the Allied Champion Battle.

All of this caused great court to be 4 hours late and in the rain.� Thank god it was in the barn.� I got to speak for P.P.P. (Pelican Princess Padraigin ... in Purple) and then we all went back to camp and had Lambic and wine under the gather tent in the rain.� Fitting way to celebrate if you ask me.� Something about wearing PJ's and spending time with true friends as a good celebration!!!

Saturday was take down ... how can that few number of people have that much stuff? Never mind how full the trucks were for the trip home let's talk stuff in the trailer.� At least I can rest easy that all of that stuff is NOT living in my house at present.� We dis-assembled and packed for what seemed like forever and then Ragnarr, Saint Ragnarr, drove all the way home.� Yesterday was all about sloth.� Movies, naps, chinese food ... everything but iced cream. (Rags did buy me some, I just fell asleep before getting to it).

So that brings us all back up to the present ... and the laundry pile that at this moment may be organizing and unionizing.



Okay - so I get to the end of this epic story ... and diaryland seems to not be responding *sigh*� I guess this means you all get my updates LATER.� Cuase I got here on time this morning and by-god I am going to go home.� To my book, my lonely cats (lonely from the week, not lonely at present cause they have the Narr with them now), my dinner and my fluffy bed.� A girl has got priorities ya know.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!