Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

July 15, 2002 - 2:04 p.m.

Forgive me friends, it has been two weeks since my last update.  Does this mean I have to do Ave Maria's now?

Things have been super busy and I can't even remember what they all are.  For the sake of simplicity I will revert to bulleted list format (but I promise this is a GOOD bulleted list)

  •  Spent most of 2 weeks ago down at my Mom's place.  What started out as an EKG to get her on the kidney donor list turned into a few days of testing and a series of scares.  It seems that her dialysis catheter had wandered into the upper ventricle of her heart.  This made for some mighty interesting bits on the EKG and generated the need to do more tests.  Everything is fine now.  She is home and back to gardening and causing her normal levels of trouble.
  • On the bright side of going and spending a few days shuttling Mom to the hospital � I came home with my Dad's car.  You see my car really does need to get into the body shop (to remove the signs of some horrific hail damage this spring).  I am giving great consideration to forgetting to return the happy fun car.  (and yes - his is yellow, bright sunny yellow) Summer and a convertible, what more could you ask for.  Okay I could ask for skin that doesn't burn so easily, but why be picky.
  • Went to Melee in the Marche, out in the Midrealm.  We stayed with Duke Edmund and family.  It was a nice event, and far better companionship.   The feast was somewhat unspeakably bad, but was made-up for by returning to Edmund's and having excellent meat from the grill then sitting about with Trina, Emma, Padraiga, and Francesca eating ice cream and drinking screw top wine.  What a way to spend a summer evening.  I love my friends.
  • Last week passed in a blur at the office.  I completed the first pass of a paper that I have been working on for some time.  It is now out for comment and thus far the comments that have come back are encouraging and helpful.  Never a bad thing.
  • I got paid to play croquet over lunch on Friday.  We had a small team barbecue and hooky session for a few hours in the afternoon.  Unfortunately for me it was followed by coming back to the office to finish some things up.  My coworkers may be great engineers, but boy do some of them need to get out more often!
  • This weekend was Assessment battles ... it was not hot, but what it lacked in heat, was made up for in humid.  Other than the fact that like fools we decided to day trip Roanoke (Up at 4:45, back home at 2am) it was a great day.  We went down with the Gainers, making for good interesting car conversations.  I got to play with my crossbow - never a bad thing.  And I also got to play for the first time in the new breastplate that Roland helped to refurb so that I could cover it with brocade.  Love the new breastplate.  Happy Kyna!  I can move about faster and with less effort this makes for a faster rate of fire, and fun.
  • Sunday was a day of sloth.  Ragnarr and Gina got up and cooked a large breakfast for all of us.  WHen I say large I mean pancakes, french toast, bacon, scrambled eggs ... a festival of food.  After that I kind of puttered about for a while and then beached on the couch.  I remained there pretty much for the rest of the day.  Ooops?  So much for all of life's little projects ...they will wait.  Nap.  ZZzzz....
So it comes around to being Monday afternoon and I am leaving for Pennsic in a little less than 3 weeks. Ohgad is it really that short a time frame.  Pardon me I need to go panic now.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!