Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

May 28, 2002 - 10:12 a.m.

Cuan's best quote from the weekend was "And the hits just keep on coming!"  That statement was made when we got back to our hotel room and found that the air-conditioning had broken.  Mind you it was midnight and we all had little stumps where our feet should have been from all the disney walking around. The weekend was actually a great deal of fun and I will get to my description of that in due time.  But what I must tell all of you about at this moment is my morning.  Cause the hits just keep on coming.

It actually starts with coming home last night.  Our flight was supposed to leave Orlando about 8:30, get in to DC about 10:15, get home all nice and civilized.  Unfortunately for us, we did not factor in REALLY BIG THUNDERSTORMS up and down the eastern seaboard.  I will make this short ... we walked in the house at 1:15am.   Well Chuck walked I just sort of stumbled and shuffled, still asleep praying to find my bed.  Sleep blessed sleep.


6-something, the alarm goes off.  Bunk that!  I go back to sleep like any sensible person would do at a time like that. I awake sometime later realizing that I have Pennsic feet.  You know the not quite achy feeling you get when you just walked them off for 3 days.  This coupled with the knowledge that sneakers don't go well with dress slacks ... suffice to day that I compromised on black leather boots.  Somewhere around _8:30_ I get out of the house.

There is a Mobil gas at the corner that is usually very reliable for breakfast munchies when I am too lazy and late to get something at the house.  They were out of milk.  How can a quick stop run out of milk???  They were out of chocolate croissants too.  Not a good sign.

The commute in wasn't bad at all - allowing me to make up lots of time that had been spent bonding with my pillow.  Love my pillow, missed it this weekend.  Oh yeah, and I missed the cats too.


Then - the real trauma of my morning ... the elevator.  I work on the sixth floor.  Somewhere around the 4th floor there was a power outage.  Sudden blackness and the going up motion ended.  Okay I can cope with that, not fun but I can cope.  It was the part when it started to jerk back DOWN in a not-so-controlled-feeling sort of way that made me less than thrilled.  You know it is really dark in a dark elevator.  Then power flickering again and beeps and more power flickering, then the waiting.  I am sure that it was only a 5 minute adventure but for a running late, sleep deprived, claustrophobic woman ... not a good way to start the day.  The doors finally opened on the 5th and I decided to walk the last flight.  You know walking stairs is good for the body, maybe I will do more of that.

On the bright side I suppose ... I am really awake now.
 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!