Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

May 13, 2002 - 3:27 p.m.

Had a good weekend, not the one that I planned but a good weekend anyway.  See the plan was to go down to Cu and Padraiga's place and do some woodworking, perhaps help her with some sewing.  Get some good not going to an event time in with them.  Unfortunately as you all know ... I started a new job, a more significantly a new schedule last week and the body said NO.

Last week was something of a shock for me.  Something about setting the alarm 2.5 hours earlier than before.  Heck, before I didn't often turn the alarm ON each day.  Well now I have joined into the land of the responsible and the commuting (Hint:  While listening to DaVinci's Notebook in the morning can wake you up on the drive, listening to "Road Rage" one of their songs will not make you feel any better when following a slow school bus down a 2 lane).  All of this change, coupled with not being in the best of health in the first place culminated in several evenings poured on the sofa last week.  I was going nowhere this weekend.


So my weekend.  For starters it included sleeping a LOT on Friday night and well into Saturday morning.  It is a wonderful feeling to wake up, roll over and go back to sleep.  By about the fourth time I started to feel guilty and so I got up.  And went downstairs to watch some TV.  Hey it was my weekend of sloth, I can do nothing with it if I want to!!  Stay with me it gets more motivated - really.

Mid afternoon rolled around and Chuck was being all productive doing useful things like mow the lawn and such.  So I tilled the garden in preparation for tomato plants (happy happy plants) and put all of my little baby herbs into nice big pots around the deck.  Here is to hoping they all survive the thunderstorms that are erupting today. "Enough outside puttering"  my brain ponders, I will go clean something inside.  This is where it all begins to go downhill.

First I decide to obsess over the junk drawer.  Now everyone has one, you know that drawer in the kitchen that seems to accumulate pens, some string, a screwdriver, a takeout menu ... that one, yeah.  Mine is all shiny and uncluttered now.  Not that any of you will ever notice or care.  But I feel better!!  Having conquered the junk drawer I have now reached unstoppable and so I wander to the bookcase and reach up.  Up to the top.  The top where you can store all number of flat things without really noticing them.  Posters, scrolls, pictures of places you have been.  Things to be framed.  And yes that means ... a trip to the framing store

Ragnarr, the loving man that he is, decided to come with.  Really how bad can it be, you go in an pick a few frames and some mats and you are done.  What I am not sure he realized when he signed up was that there were no less than 20 items in the portfolio of things to be framed. The good news is that by the grace of some superior being (is that marketing in this case???) they were having a 30% off frames sale.  Damn lucky for me.

In a mere 2 hours we picked out lots of things that involve do it your self matting and ready made frames and only a few of our items had to be sent out for custom work.  Of course those were the really hard items with complex math needed to get the mats centered.  It is not my fault I decided to top mount mat stamps from france.  They looked cool!  We shall see how they come out in a few weeks (sigh,patienceisnotmyvirtue)

In a sign of great intelligence and wisdom, nothing got hung Saturday night.  Some things got hung Sunday morning.  Some things are on the kitchen counter waiting still.  Wendy I am sure you will understand ... hanging is one of those precise sciences that has to involve a ruler, a T square and a level wherever possible.  It is a science of white space and prayer.  'Narr wisely hung about supportively and really didn't try to help me much.  Just allowed my one of my manic tendencies while saying kind things.  Love the 'Narr.



I like to refer to Sunday as the great Mom Tour.  Went to Tapahanock (that is 70 min east of Fredericksburg) for lunch with my Mom.  Then back up to Dale City to see Chuck's Mom.  Lots of driving, lots of eating.  These are all good, cause it also meant lots of sitting.  I could get used to this sloth thing for a while.

But no, this is Monday.  Monday's are for working.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!