Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

May 09, 2002 - 3:46 p.m.

There are the little things that you begin to learn about an office in the first week.  First the simple things like where is the bathroom and the soda machine, who is in on the office coffe pool.  Then there are the ones that are more subtle but jsut as important.  Like the fact that my officemate live in West Virginia (note to self, no matter how bad traffic is he will have had it worse).  And the fact that the guy next door loves to chat and can give me directions to anywhere - the man is a walking map!  But as I sit here in my office reading about network security metrics and MPLS design, I realize the thing that should have hit me first but has taken 4 days to bubble up.  This place is quiet like a tomb.  I have been in libraries on finals week that were louder than this.  No music wafting down the hall from somewhere torturing everyone with something only 1 guy could possibly like, no sound of an engineer screaming in pain ... cause days of confgurations (that never got backed up) just went poof.  No sound of some poor soul getting beamed in the head with something flying through the air.  No people taking conference calls from a cube on a SPEAKERPHONE!!!  The quiet is somewhere between soothing and unnerving. I have yet to decide.



And today's randomness comes to us from the Aberdeen Beastiary Project with their charming little headgehogs that roll in grapes ... to feed their young.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!