Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

April 16, 2002 - 10:40 a.m.

Well Spring sprung in Northern Virginia and now it seems a wistful memory ... I got home from work yesterday and it was 81 degrees in my house. I had left the windows open. You see it is April and that means that weather reports of :

Tuesday: A mix of clouds and sun. High near 90F. Light SSW winds.

Tuesday evening: Partly cloudy. Low near 59F. Winds near calm.

Wednesday: Mostly sunny early, then becoming partly cloudy later in the day. High near 90F. Winds WSW 5 to 10 mph.

Wednesday evening: Scattered thunderstorms in the evening, then variable clouds overnight with still a chance of showers. Low near 59F. Light NW winds. Chance of rain 50%.

These must be a mistake!!! I haven�t even put in my tomato plans cause the local �rule� is wait until May 1st so as to avoid any chance of FROST injuring your plants. Confusion I tell you, just confusion.

On the other hand I am still living with spring allergy season. While I do not have to suffer the horrors of the nuclear yellow pollen that folks like Padraiga have to live with each spring, there are plenty of things here that cause a girl to sneeze. I get to play a balancing act each spring � sneeze my brains out or take my allergy meds and feel dehydrated for the season. Suffice to say that I have chosen the latter and have yet another mug of iced water at my desk this morning.

And that, my friends, brings me to the WorldCom absurdity of the day. Many of you have read about the trials of no free coffee anymore (and the awful machines that they put in to provide something that claims to be coffee), or the loss of our free long distance (yes I switched carriers, so did most of my coworkers I believe), but I am going to take a wild stab that NO ONE has ranted about ice water!!

First some background � each floor of the office building has 2 small break rooms in it, one at each end of the floor. Makes sense so far. Each one has a fridge, a microwave, you know - the basics. One has a Pepsi machine, one a Coke machine. Each has a candy machine, and one of them has the previously mentioned coffee thing. But for those of us that would like the simple pleasure of iced water � one break room has the ice machine and the other has the water bubbler!!! Yes I go to one end to get ice, and then trudge down the other way for water (trust me the tap water here just tastes lousy, I tried that). Ugh!! One more reason to dislike my job.

And no, I haven�t gotten it in writing yet � waiting another day. Sigh.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!