Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

February 05, 2002 - 3:48 p.m.

Updates in life in the past week or so ... work continues to be filled with "issues" I continue to do my best to not care too much about this sort of thing. Casting is good for the soul, and helps to take the stress away too. This is a really good thing, and might has the added benefit of making new belts for Ragnarr and I in the near future. Maybe Ymir, definitely by Ponte Alto Investiture. The latest from work is that I am not re-org'ed but re-structured. Either way I now report to someone in Colorado that I have never met. Should be interesting. Sad tho' that I am no longer a direct part of the engineering delivery team. One more reason to go.

Last weekend we went to Candlemas. This is a Midrealm event out in Kentucky, a 9 hour drive - each way. Something that on paper comes dangerously close to breaking the drive to fun equation rules. (Never drive for longer than you will be somewhere ... it becomes far to hard to have sufficient fun to justify the commute). In any case it was a really nice event. There was a large tourney (with a format that I would love to try out here some time), a few good merchants (no I did not buy more fabric ... but I could have, there was nice stuff to be had). It was inside (which Nia will tell you was wimpish on the fighter's part) which was really nice for the observing - outside was COLD!!!! I liked it. I can likely be convinced to go back next year.

And speaking of the cold. Wasn't it 80 degrees last week? I know that this is still winter and all but to go from that to a random 15 minute blizzard that I didn't know was coming yesterday does NOT inspire me to get out of the house and go to work in the morning (not that sunny 70's was inspiring to the office either ...) SO my message to Mother Nature - PICK ONE and stick to it. My sinuses and lungs can't take it any more. Maybe I should move to a southerly island. But I would have to get all my friends to move there with me so I wouldn't be lonely. This would have an unpredictable effect on the economy I am sure. Hmmm - wonder what you get when you drop an armourer/geek, a rocket scientist, some computer geeks, a chem engineer, sports fans, some program managers, a lawyer, some really great craftsmen, and some housecats on an island. I shudder to imagine the possibilities, but if the pennsic structures are any indication the locals should open a Lowes and make a fortune in the process.

And speaking of Pennsic (don't you love these transitions) while in Kentucky we brainstormed the next pile of insane projects. Next up seems to be oak trestle tables. I am all about this idea. :) Happy happy. And some good pennants. Maybe get in to silk dying and painting with said dye. Wendy be warned ... I am about to venture into 2 of your passions at once dyeing and heraldic display, I will be hitting you up for info and sucking you in. Can you see them flutter in the breeze. *sigh* the beauty of the camp.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!