Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

December 14, 2001 - 10:02 a.m.

Is it still paperwork if it is all electronic? It is Friday, the day I try to reserve for actually getting work done. You have to realize that I manage people that talk about work for a living (project managers); inherently this does not lend it self well to much doing. So Friday is the day that I shun meetings (that is not to say that I am not at present dialed into a conference call) and do things like filing. Filing??? It is all electronic right? Yep. And my inbox is a wreck. My desk actually matches it at present. Copies of old project plans, marked up presentations, and god only knows what litter the place. I don't know if there is a desk under it all any more. Must create neatness in all of this somehow.

My weekend shall also be filled with this same plague (poor Ragnarr, I am going to go on another unprovoked cleaning binge). Quarter Chirurgeon reports are due again. This will spawn some activity in the fine art of cert filing, database updating, e-mail replying and web site updating. *sigh* I am an administrator in my hobby too. How did this happen?

On much brighter news ... my Mom does NOT have cancer. She had surgery earlier this week and there was some concern that she might, she doesn't. She is still in the ICQ recovering and bored senseless. Or perhaps it is the drugs that are making her senseless. Quote of the week comes from Mom. "Morphine really works!" Gotta love Mom. Uncle Bob and I go to visit Sunday. Hoping that this will correspond with springing her from the hospital. We shall see.

Since my last update I have had lots of culture in my life (and not just the kind that comes with the creeping crud that seems to be going around). Over the weekend, Chuck and I went to a concert with Travis and Jill. It was a number of bands, the most memorable of them being BNL. They played last, of course, and were spectacular. Worth the wait. Thanks T&J for inviting us!!! It was wonderful randomness for my weekend.

Wednesday, we went to see Hamlet. It was great. Of course I may be somewhat biased as this is my 2nd favorite Shakespeare play (kudos to the person that guesses my favorite) Chuck spent a great deal of time swearing that the lead was the "lost member of Police" Suffice to say I couldn't swear that he was wrong. The set was oddly compelling. It was a U of silvery gray pylons the left half of which had been toppled like dominoes and then weathered with rust tones. Very abstract, but I like that in a set. Ah, shades of my past showing through ... my theatre past where I studies set design. Good play, nuff said.

Ahh the Art Test. That seems to be the latest rage to take. Yes I took it, call me Mona. The reader is left to wonder how on EARTH that came up for me. At least my faith in self is not shaken like Byram. :)

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!