Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

November 29, 2001 - 11:51 a.m.

It seems from time to time that the world just becomes so busy that if it were voluntary we would all forget to breathe. The last few weeks have been like that for me. One moment it was the end of October and now it is the end of November. Where did my month go???

How much work can change in the blink of an eye. My boss, Susan, got laid off at the end of October. Work has changed a lot as a result. We seem to all be groping for a direction and a focus, while at the same time reporting to a VP and having _much_ more visibility. While ordinarily you would thing that this might be a good thing, happy for the career progression and all, I find however that I feel no management support and generally that we are all waiting around for the other shoe to drop. It sucks to know that the last person was made a scapegoat � when is my turn?

My parents came up for a week visit (Dad had some conference in Fairfax and Mom just tagged along for the trip). I love my folks, sometimes wish that they lived closer. It was just great when I was in Richmond. They were about 75 minutes away. Just close enough to go for an afternoon, but far enough that everyone felt the need to call before coming. Now they are farther, or more accurately I am farther away.

It should have been a nice laid back visit. It wasn�t. Mom was in a bad car wreck (she is fine), had some other health issues when here, and I wound up getting conned into loaning my Celica to Dad. Not just for the duration of his visit but until their car is fixed � maybe 1st of the year. *sigh* Miss my little zippy car. Miss being able to fit into parking places. I think one of the hardest things to see is parents getting old. She is so frail, and I feel so helpless.

Turkey Day was good, love my Uncle. He hosted. He now has this lovely little yellow house near Northern Neck (yes the Northern Neck of the addictive ginger ale). It was odd, I didn�t notice it when I was there � but his son was not in attendance. I was there, my folks were there. It was this cozy family gathering. My cousin is so estranged now that I didn�t even notice him not being there. Sad.

Everything continues. My list of things to do gets longer, then I get a few things done. Mom is safe at home, toddling about getting older. Uncle Bob has left (and I am cat sitting AGAIN) on a road trip to Montana � one of these days he just won�t come back from one of these trips. He will just settle out there. Work bumps along, nothing pushing me over the edge, but all of it just a grind. And things keep going on.

Wow this is dark. Don�t get me wrong. I have wonderful and wonderous things in my life. Friends that come over and randomly play trivia games. Chuck, who now wears no glasses (this will take some getting used to on my part). I live in a splendid house, which will soon have blue carpet in the basement (yeah more blue!!). And have actually started work early for once on 12th Night Garb. I have good friends, good family, and a better love in my life. I have 2 perfect cats.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!