Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

October 26, 2001 - 3:33 p.m.

What can I say? Ladies, last night was positively lovely. Now before all you perverts all get all the wrong kinds of ideas in your heads realize that it was simply 6 women (2 of whom were saint like and designated drivers) one Mexican-oid restaurant (there is no Mexican food in the greater DC area, trust me), some margaritas and a few shots of tequila.

Thanks to Alan�s wise advise to Jen before she left the house, there was no dancing on the table ;) Everyone seemed to have a wonderful time and was sited on AIM this morning all safe and sound.

So in honor of the fact that this is the Friday before Halloween, I am at work today wearing a headband with blinking pumpkin antennae. This seems to cause great distress for far too many of my co-workers. The number of people that have felt the need to tell me that today is not Halloween is staggering. Far more disturbing was the poor man that walked into a wall because he was staring at my head! Loosen up folks it is FRIDAY!!!! Really what did you expect from the woman that has had blinking Halloween lights at her desk for the better part of the month?

This week has been all about social activities in the evening. Wednesday night I looked up at one point and realized that when I wasn�t looking someone had put a dinner party in my dining room. It started out innocently enough. Mel, who has an evil commute at present, was spending the night. This was all the excuse needed for me to do something more creative than a TV meal � chicken and rice it is then. Then Matt called, and he had no evening plans. He got wind that I was cooking dinner and well now we are 4. Finally in a complete act of randomness, my Uncle Bob called on his way home from a friend�s place in Manassas. He had another delivery of Northern Neck (world�s best ginger ale � made in Northern Neck, VA) for me and could he come by? Well duh? I invited him to dinner.

So here you have it. My wonderful, retired, antique collecting, redneck uncle (yes the one that gave me Big Red), Matt the token non-SCAdian friend, Mel the hockey fan, Chuck who actually wound up working late, and me all in one place for dinner. You would think that this would be a short and quiet meal? No commonalities, right? No it went on for 5 hours!!!!! Who would have thunk it?

Bob brought me a wonderous American flag. Now I have this grand large flag flying on my porch. Yeah! All of my attempts to procure one have been failures. He did point out something kind of disturbing � there are very few flags flying in my neighborhood. There were tons a few weeks ago. Where did they all go? I know that people have them. Come on folks, put your flags back out it is not like they will go stale or something. Patriotism does not have an expiration date.

Tonight will be an early night. Maybe catch a movie somewhere with the Narr. Maybe finish carving the token for Crown (need to do that real soon now). *sigh* Weekend at home. No commitments. No getting up to an alarm clock. *Happy dance* Ragnarr makes splendid French toast � hmmmm.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!